East Midlands Education Trust

Trust Governance

The Full Trust Board meet six times per academic year. In addition, there are specific trustees' committees who deal with matters relating to Finance & Estates, Audit & Risk, Standards & Inclusion and HR.

Schools in the trust have their own local governing body, accountable to the Trustees, whilst retaining a considerable amount of delegated authority to make decisions affecting the day to day running of the school.

Attendance records of governors at local governing body meetings and their terms of office can all be found on individual school websites from the Homepage. 

Members are the signatories to the trust Articles. They also appoint Trustees and can remove Trustees in specific circumstances. 

Trustees (Directors) determine the vision, values, strategic direction of the Trust. They also define a Scheme of Delegation and appoint trustees to sit on each committee and local governing bodies.  The Trust Board determines the remit and membership of the committees. 

Local Governing Bodies must comply with the Trust's Scheme of Delegation. They are committees of the Trust Board and have no legal recognition, but they play a full and formal part of the Trust's governance structure. There is also governor representative on some of the trustees' committees.




Trustees and committee membership:

Mr Patrick Terence Booth (Vice Chair)

(Executive Pay & HR committee)

Re-appointed July 2020

(term ends 3/7/24)

Mr Neil Clifton

(Executive Pay & HR committee) 

Re-appointed Aug 2021

(term ends 31/8/25)

Mr Brian Andrew Carr

(Finance & Estates / Standards & Inclusion committees)

Re-appointed Sept 2023

(term ends 31/8/27)

Dr John Frederick Collins

(Finance & Estates committee)

Re-appointed Sept 2022

(term ends 31/8/26)

Dr Andrew Michael Hindmarsh (Chair)

(Strategic Development and Executive Pay committee)

Re-appointed Sept 2022

(term ends 31/8/26)

Mr Robert McDonough

(Chief Executive)

Mr Paul John Winter

(Audit & Risk committee Chair)

Re-appointed Sept 2023

(term ends 31/8/27)

Ms Sophie Tinley

(Audit & Risk committee)

Appointed June 2021

(term ends 6/6/2025)

Mrs Ann Witheford

(Standards & Inclusion committee Chair)

Appointed Oct 2021

(term ends 3/10/2025)

Mrs Mary Robson

(HR committee)

Appointed February 2022

(term ends 7/2/2026)

Local Governors on Trust Committees:


Mr Andrew Hoggard

(Finance and Estates committee)

Appointed Sept 2023

(annual review)

Mrs Elizabeth Watson

(Standards & Inclusion committee)

Appointed Sept 2023

(annual review)

Mr Simon Martin

(Audit & Risk committee)

Appointed Oct 2023

(annual review)


Dr Andrew Michael Hindmarsh

appointed Dec 2015 ( and Chair of Trustees)

Dr Sally Gornall (Hancock)

re-appointed Jan 2023

Mr Colin Campbell

appointed Dec 2019

Mr Philip Harding

re-appointed Jan 2023

Mr Nicholas Johnson

appointed Dec 2023


Former trustees/members within the last 12 months:

Mrs Kathleen Margaret Foale (Trustee) Term end Aug 2023
Ms Allison Fitchett (Member)  Term end Dec 2023